Before content is sent to the screen, there are a couple of steps that need to be taken. GoBright View uses the portal and one or more devices which all have to be configured. Below is an outline of the minimal setup within GoBright:
- Adding a device
- Creating a channel, zone(s) and resolution(s)
- Creating a playlist
- Upload content to devices
While these are the basic steps that need to be followed. For more in depth information follow the links below.
Adding a device
The preparation is heavily dependent on the type of device that is being used. GoBright View either uses an LG webOS screen/box or an industrial PC which is called a ‘player’. In general, both require the GoBright app to be installed on the device.
The certified industrial PC’s come with GoBright View pre installed when acquired via a GoBright partner. The installation guide for certified LG webOS devices can be found here: LG webOS Installation Guide.
When the app has been installed an activation code will be displayed on screen. This code is entered within the portal in order to activate the device. Now that the device has been added, we can start configuring it within GoBright View.
Creating a channel, zone and resolution(s)
GoBright View uses channels like TV channels. A channel consists of one or more zones which contain one or more playlists.
It is possible to add multiple resolutions and even mix landscape and portrait resolutions within a single channel. The device that presents the content will adapt to the best possible resolution and orientation.
The Channels & Layouts article will guide you through setting this all up.
Creating a playlist
After the channel has been configured, the playlist can be created. A playlist contains one or more slides. Each piece of content is added to a slide.
A playlist is scheduled on specific dates, channel(s) and devices.
More information about playlists.
Sending the configuration and content to devices
The final step is to send the configuration and content (scheduled playlists) to the devices. This will need to be done every time after something in the configuration or a schedule, playlist or slide has been added or altered.
Read on about Updating content and configuration